Show storage overview for site-collections with PowerShell

PowerShell is very powerful and helps you to quickly get different views on your SharePoint environment. The Usage class can be used to retrieve Storage information for a particular site-collection. Combining this into a PowerShell script provides an overview of storage sizing for your personal storage sites (My Sites) for example.

In this example all My Sites are located within the namespace http://my.contoso.com. When querying the My Sites I’m using this as input. After the basic query I transform the output to get the report.

The first query can be used for the numbers based on megabytes (MB). I’m using the System.Math.Round() method to transform the output based on custom tables in PowerShell.

Get-SPSite -Limit ALL | ?{$_.Url -like "*my.contoso.com*"} | Format-Table Url, @{Expression={[math]::round($_.Usage.Storage/1MB, 3)};Label="Storage"} -AutoSize

The output is shown below.

PowerShell console, output storage query

When I change the formatting for better readability you get the following query. The column Storage is displayed based on string formatting.

Get-SPSite -Limit ALL | ?{$_.Url -like "*my.contoso.com*"} | Format-Table Url, @{Expression={($_.Usage.Storage/1MB).ToString("#,###.000 MB")};Label="Storage"} -AutoSize

This will impact the column Storage shown in the output below.

PowerShell console, output storage query with string Formatting

Enjoy! Have fun with PowerShell.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

