Resolve conflict Domain Control SID and member SID

To play around with SharePoint 2013 I need a decent setup of a Domain Controller, SQL Server 2012 and SharePoint 2013 Server. To achieve this I use Hyper-V and want to reuse as much as possible, but it has it limits…

SharePoint 2013 Server Topology

Every machine, virtual of physical, has it’s own SID. This can be retrieved via PsGetSid.exe from Sysinternals.com. The thing is, it seems that the Domain Controller needs to have an unique SID within the domain. Although the domain members are allowed to have similar SIDs.

When I setup my topology I use a base image for every machine. Meaning these all have the same SID. After I installed my Domain Controller and second machine which I wanted to join to the domain I got this error “The domain join cannot be completed because the SID of the domain you attempted to join was identical to the SID of this machine”.

JoinDomainMemberToDomainControllerSIDError

The solution to this is renewing the SID of the member machine. I needed to run sysprep.exe to change the SID of my base image, which I use to create the SQL Server 2012 and SharePoint 2013 machines. After running sysprep everything worked as expected!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Bram,

    Here its some more info:

    It is supported to use sysprep to prepare an image of SharePoint in the following scenarios:
    Sharepoint Products and Technologies Configuration (PSConfig) Wizard has not yet been run after the SharePoint 2010 installation
    SharePoint 2010 has not been installed in Standalone mode (Database and SharePoint on the same box). Standalone installation is unsupported due to configuration changes made during install, that will not be properly adjusted by sysprep.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2728976

    Regards,
    Mahmoud Hamed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

